Gluten Free Food List

Gluten can best be described as a type of protein that you won’t find in meat or eggs. You should avoid grains like wheat, rye, and barley, if you are looking for gluten-free foods. A gluten-free diet is important for most people who have gluten allergies or celiac disease. (Celiac disease causes intestinal damage when gluten is consumed).

READ ALSO: Ketogenic Diet for Beginners

Some symptoms of gluten allergy include abdominal pain, bloating, diarrhea, and irritability. The gluten free diet is adopted for the treatment of celiac sprue and dermatitis herpetiformis. Following the diet will ease the symptoms linked to gluten sensitivity.

Switching to a gluten-free diet may be not be as difficult as other new diet plan, though it will take some time getting used to a new diet. There are plenty of gluten-free products, such as bread and pasta. Almost all grocery stores sell gluten-free foods. You can also consult a dietitian for a correct diet plan, if you are just starting with gluten-free foods.

Gluten Free Food List

  1. Grains and Starches

These includes flax rice, buckwheat, corn meal, soybean, Tapioca arrowroot potato, flours, quinoa, amaranth, millet, cream-of-rice, puffed rice, unflavored popcorn, wild rice corn, hominy, grits and corn starch Pure. You can also take gluten-free oats after seeking advice from your doctor.

  1. Gluten Free Fruits and Vegetables
  • Fruits:Pineapple, apple, honeydew melon, kiwi, kumquat, lemon, limes, mandarins, acai, oranges, mangoes, papaya, peaches, pears, plums, persimmons, quince, raspberries, dates, strawberries, tamarind, tangerines, apricot, bananas, blackberries, blueberries, cantaloupe, carob, cherry, berries,  currants, figs, grapes, guava, and watermelons.
  • Vegetables: Spinach, onions, turnips, parsley, peas, peppers, potatoes (white and sweet), pumpkins, radish, squash, watercress, corn, agar, alfalfa, algae, arrowroot, artichoke, garlic, arugula, asparagus, avocado, cucumber, broccoli, beans, Brussel sprouts, cabbage, cauliflower, carrots, celery, eggplant, green beans, kale, lettuce, mushrooms and okra.
  1. Rice and Potatoes

Rice and potatoes do not contain gluten. You can combine them into meals, snacks, or enjoy them on their own without mixing them with any other food items.

  1. Soup

Gluten free homemade broth or soup includes; gluten-free bouillon cubes, soups prepared with rice or gluten-free pasta and gluten-free chowders and creamed soups harden with cream, cornstarch, potato flour or other allowed special flours. Homemade or processed gluten-free macaroni without sauces thickened with flour, grains made with only cream.

  1. Fats 

For oils, you can opt or wheat germ oil, butter, lard, most vegetable shortenings and margarines, foods fried in pure oils that have not been breaded with inhibiting flours Pure mayonnaise (and added salad dressings that are thicken with egg, cornstarch or allowed special flours), homemade salad dressings made with concentrate vinegar Cream, bacon, sour cream nuts, olives, peanut butter, avocado and cream cheese.

  1. Beverage in Your Gluten Free Food List

Freshly brewed coffee, teas, chocolate milk made with cocoa 100% fruit juices, Wine, gluten-free beers, distilled alcohols and cordials (check tag for chemicals and dyes).

  1. Herbs 
  • Herbs, pure spices, salt, and monosodium glutamate (MSG).
  • Honey, Sugar, molasses, jelly, jam, maple syrup, corn syrup, imitation, or pure vanilla extract.
  • Coconut, pure chocolate, pure cocoa, marshmallows and candies prepared from allowed grains.
  • Mustard, pickles, relish, horseradish, ketchup steak sauce not prepared with inhibited component like gluten-free soy sauce, rice, or cider vinegar.
  1. Dairy Products in Your Gluten Free Food List
  • Whole, low-fat, skim, fresh, dried or evaporated milk, flavored milk (check labels).
  • Plain yogurt and kefir, flavored yogurt and kefir (check labels).
  • All aged hard cheeses (swiss, parmesan, cheddar, etc.), cottage cheese.
  1. Gluten Free Bread 

Bread contains gluten, but many health food stores and some main supermarkets now sell gluten-free products, covering an assortment of bread. These are often prepared with rice or potato flour instead of wheat products. Ensure you carefully check the label to get 100% gluten-free bread.

READ ALSO: Advantages and Disadvantages of Keto Diet

  1. Healthy Fat

Avocados, virgin olive oil, sesame oil, coconut oil, and pasture-fed butter, ghee, almond milk, coconuts, nuts, and cheese (except for blue cheeses). Some gluten-free seeds like sunflower seeds, pumpkin seeds, flaxseed, sesame seeds, and chia seeds.

  1. Protein in Your Gluten Free Food List

Salmon, herring, black cod, and sardines are good sources of fish for your gluten free protein. Other sources rich in protein are eggs, shellfish, molluscs, pork, poultry, and grass-fed meat.

  1. Meat in Your Gluten Free Food List

Meats are always gluten free except prepare breaded or fried with breadcrumbs. Avoid taking gravy as most of the gravy contains gluten. Gluten free meat sources include Pork, goat, beef, turkey, lamb, veal, chicken, goose, quail, venison, alligator, duck, and snake.

Food Items to Avoid:

You should avoid all food and drinks containing:

  • Malt flavoring and malt vinegar are usually made from barley.
  • Wheat:Contains items that are prepared with flour. Many parts of the wheat which carrying the bran, germ, and starch, and grain species gain from inhibited grains, for example, triticale is a hybrid of wheat and rye.
  • Barley:Contains all parts of the barley grain and items prepared from barley such as malt flavorings, brewer’s yeast, brown rice syrup, and beer.
  • Rye:Includes all parts of the rye grain, normally found in our food supply as rye bread and rye flour. Opposite wheat and barley, rye is normally not used as a food additive.
  • Oats:includes all products including oats (including oat flour, oat bran, and oat gums).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *